Cookies play an important part in ensuring that a website works correctly. Several of these cookies are technically essential to guarantee certain functions of the website. In addition to this, we use several cookies to collect information regarding user behaviour on this website, which is then used to continually improve our website. Click on "I agree" to accept cookies. You can find further information on our data protection site.

EU-Bildungsprogramm Erasmus+


The EU Erasmus+ educational programme (2014 - 2020) The new educational programme

From 2014 a new EU educational programme has been in operation, combining all anticipated fields of education under the new name Erasmus+. The EU Commission is allocating a budget of €14.7bn to cover a period of seven years.

The hdpk’s current ERASMUS Charter for Higher Education can be viewed here, and its ERASMUS Policy Statement can be viewed here.

Countries involved in the programme

In the new Erasmus+ programme, a distinction is made between Programme Countries and Partner Countries. Only universities that are in Programme Countries and have received an Erasmus Charter for Higher Education (ECHE) have the right to make applications within Erasmus+. However, institutions in other countries are eligible to operate as partners in collaborative projects.

The following European countries are Erasmus+ Programme Countries:

Member states of the European Union

  • Austria, Belgium, Bulgaria, Croatia, Cyprus, The Czech Republic, Denmark, Estonia, Finland, France, Germany, Greece, Hungary, Ireland, Italy, Latvia, Lithuania, Luxembourg, Malta, The Netherlands, Poland, Portugal, Romania, Slovakia, Slovenia, Spain, Sweden, The United Kingdom

Candidate countries

  • Macedonia, Turkey

EEA/EFTA countries

  • Iceland, Liechtenstein, Norway

Support programmes The following support programmes are in operation:

ERASMUS gives students the opportunity to study in another European country and broaden their cultural horizons. They get to know the academic system of a foreign university, and benefit from their teaching and study methods.

Students are eligible for support for a period of study of between three and twelve months at a foreign host-university, once they have successfully completed their first year of studies and until their time of graduation.

The programme offers the following assistance to students:

  • a Mobility grant towards expenses resulting from being abroad
  • exemption from study fees at the host university
  • support during preparation for the period abroad
  • formal recognition of academic achievements abroad

ERASMUS also supports students in work placements at host institutions in foreign countries within Europe. (EU institutions, institutions that administer EU programmes, and diplomatic representatives of a student’s country of origin are excluded). This allows students to obtain work experience in an international context, and complement their academic qualification with acquired communication and collaboration skills, broadened horizons and new knowledge of other cultures and markets. Support is available for both mandatory and elective placements lasting between three and twelve months.

The programme offers the following assistance to students:

  • a monthly grant towards expenses resulting from being abroad
  • an EU work-placement contract between the university, companies and students
  • support during preparation for the period abroad; if required, participation in a preparatory ERASMUS intensive language course for less-common languages
  • support during the placement from nominated individuals at both the home university and the company where the placement is arranged
  • official recognition of achievements made during the time spent abroad

ERASMUS provides support for guest teaching staff at European partner universities (STA1) that hold an ERASMUS University Charter. Visiting academics strengthen the European dimension of their host university, add to what they themselves can offer as lecturers, and bring specialist knowledge to students who are unable or do not wish to study abroad. Development of collaborative study programmes across paired universities and the exchange of course content and teaching methods is promoted. The teaching visit must comprise at least five teaching-hours and may last for a maximum of six weeks.

Also possible is support for tuition given by employees of foreign companies at German universities (STA2), to further the collaboration between universities and the commercial sector.

The following example categories give an indication of who is eligible for support within the ST (STA und STT) programme:

  • tenured academics
  • other university teaching staff
  • employees of commercial companies, who work in scientific fields (Incoming)

The programme offers the following assistance to participants:

  • reimbursement of travel and subsistence costs (the maximum amount payable depends on the length of stay)

As a further measure to increase the internationalisation of universities, on-going education of university employees (both administrative and teaching staff) at European universities and at foreign businesses and institutions is possible.

The period abroad must last for a minimum of one week (five working days) and a maximum of six weeks; under certain circumstances, a period of less than one week may be eligible.

The STT programme is available to university staff from all areas within an institution, for example:

  • general and technical administration
  • library
  • departments/specialist areas
  • faculties
  • finance
  • international office
  • public relations
  • student advising
  • technology and technology transfercontinuing
  • education

The programme offers the following assistance to participants:

  • reimbursement of travel and subsistence costs (the maximum amount payable depends on the length of stay)


The ERASMUS university programme, a major achievement of the European Union, has since 1987 supported the trans-border mobility of students, academic staff and university non-teaching staff throughout Europe. So far, around 2.5 million students and almost 250,000 academics have been able to spend a period abroad as a result.

The following European countries participate in ERASMUS: The 28 EU member countries, Iceland, Liechtenstein, Norway, Turkey and Switzerland.

Within the context of the EU’s Lifelong Learning Programme (2007-2013), ERASMUS supports the following Mobility programmes:

  • Student Mobility for Studies (SMS)
  • Student Mobility for Placements (SMP)
  • Staff Teaching Assignments (STA)
  • Staff Mobility for Training (STT)
  • Intensive Programme (IP)
  • Preparatory Visits (PV)

The hdpk holds a European University Charter for Student Mobility for Placements (SMP); its EUC reference number is: 263078-IC-1-2013-1-DE-ERASMUS-EUCX-1, and it can be viewed here.

A Charter for other Mobility measures, covering 2014-2020, has been applied for.

The ERASMUS University Charter (EUC) was awarded by the EU Commission; it demonstrates that a university fulfils all the requirements for successfully participating in the ERASMUS programme.

Further information and advice

If you have any further questions relating to the ERASMUS programmes, please contact:

Deutschen Akademischen Austauschdienst
Nationale Agentur für EU-Hochschulzusammenarbeit
Kennedyallee 50
53115 Bonn